You are here

Eduardo Carrillo Scholarship Recipients Honored

The 2014 Eduardo Carrillo Scholarship recipients were honored on April 29 at a reception featuring a temporary exhibition of their work. Most of the 18 Carrillo scholars attended, along with Alison Carrillo, the creator of the Eduardo Carrillo Scholarship.

Ms. Carrillo established the scholarship in 1997 to honor the life and work of her late husband Eduardo Carrillo, UCSC Art Professor Emeritus and famed Chicano muralist. Among others attending were Arts Division Dean David Yager, Art Department Chair Jennifer Parker, Betsy Andersen (director of the Museo Eduardo Carrillo), and Art Department faculty and staff.

Since its inception, the Eduardo Carrillo Scholarship has benefited nearly 200 outstanding UCSC Art students working in painting, sculpture, and drawing.

The Arts Division is grateful to Alison Carrillo for her generosity, vision, and commitment to helping students pursue their creativity through art, which this scholarship helps make possible.

2014 Eduardo Carrillo Scholarship Recipients:

Ruben Barron
Briana Bol
Gloria Cifuentes
Louise Couzens
Jordan Goldfine-Middleton
Shane Landi
Jennifer Macias
Giovanna Martinez
Jessica O'Handley
Jeremy Rathjen
Kristian Talley
Richard Vallejos
Joanne Wang
Jaysie Yu
Lulu Zilinskas
Jesus Zuniga

Photo: Garrett McGovern