You are here

Arts Division Announces Distinguished Professors

On March 6 Dean of the Arts David Yager announced the first appointments of the Arts Division’s Distinguished Professors. Research Professors are early- to mid-career scholars who have already made substantial research contributions. Their trajectory suggests the promise for work that will have national and international impact. Eminent Professors are senior faculty who have demonstrated unusual academic merit, possess international reputations, and show high promise for future scholarly achievement. All bring distinction to the Arts at UC Santa Cruz.

Four faculty members have been named. Assistant Professor Irene Lusztig of the Film and Digital Media Department who has been appointed to a three-year term as the Arts Dean's Research Professor.

Music professor Nicole Paiement, director of ensembles at the Music Department, has been appointed to a five-year term as the Arts Dean's Eminent Professor.

And Professors Emeriti Helen and Newton Harrison of the Art Department have each been appointed to five-year terms as Arts Dean's Visiting Eminent Professors.

All of the appointees were selected for their outstanding research contributions. In addition to the title, each appointment comes with a monetary award to support faculty research.

A committee of Emeritus faculty, chaired by Associate Dean Martin Berger, selected the Distinguished Professors.