You are here

2020 Deans’ and Chancellor’s Undergraduate Research Award Winners in the Arts Division


Congratulations to this year’s UC Santa Cruz Deans' Undergraduate Research Award Winners for the Arts! Dean's Awards are granted to fifty of the most exceptional undergraduate research theses or projects (ten from each academic division) completed at UC Santa Cruz during the academic year. Each Dean's award project participant receives $100 for outstanding achievement in their division.

From the fifty Dean’s Award-winning projects, the most outstanding fifteen (three from each Division) are selected to also receive a Chancellor’s Award. Each Chancellor's Award project receives an additional $500.

“The projects submitted to the competition this year were excellent and I am proud of the students and their projects selected as representative of the highest quality work of undergraduates in the Arts,” said Ted Warburton, Interim Dean, Division of the Arts.

A "virtual" awards ceremony hosted by Chancellor Larive and emceed by the Faculty Director of Honors, David Draper, will be held on Monday, June 1, 2020 via Zoom.

Arts Dean's Award Winners

Gateway into The Abyss: Unlocking the Transcending Realms and Enlightened Truth Through Exploration of Occult Iconography in Hilma Af Klint’s The Swan No.24 
Christina Nicole Conti (Cowell)

A Portrait of G.H. Wells
Eli Samuel Crespin (Kresge)
Katelin Kai-Lin Ong (Stevenson)
Laura Elena Gonzalez (Cowell)
Yvonne Lizeth Gonzalez (Crown)

Cendrillon - Winter 2020
David Garen Kronenberg (Porter)

Nymph Mania: J. W. Waterhouse’s Femme Fatales and Victorian Anxieties About Shifting Gender Dynamics
Chloe Rose Calhoun (Crown)

Psychopathic Dismemberment and Psychic Slaughter: Spectatorship, Affect, and Gender in the Slasher Cycle
Robert Snow Martin (Porter)

The Norris Center Archives
Saul Villegas (Porter)

The Pirates of Penzance Spring Opera 2019
Kylie Paige Smith (Ten)

Arts Dean’s and Chancellor's Award Winners

Cat's Cradle
Georgio Lee Klironomos (Crown)
Erica Ming Li (Ten)
Herman Wei-Jye Wu (Merrill)

Exploring Personal Boundaries with Adults who have Developmental Disabilities through Serious Games and Brainwaves
Samantha Conde (Merrill)

Inspiration Point / Filling the Imaginary Void: Addressing "Documentary Distance" in the Representation of Historical Violence (FILM AND PAPER)
Keanu Ramos (Porter)

Again, congratulations to all of these outstanding students!