You are here

The Del Sol Quartet

Music of Frederic Rzewski, Bernadette Speach, Ben Leeds Carson
AICS Del Sol
Saturday, April 28, 2018 - 7:30pm
Music Center Recital Hall (UCSC)
Presented by: 
Music Department

San Francisco's Del Sol Quartet performs the West Coast premiere of String Quartet No. 2 by revolutionary composer Frederic Rzewski (b. 1938) and new music by local and international composers.

Del Sol Quartet (Benjamin Kreith and Rick Shinozaki, violins; Charlton Lee, viola; Kathryn Bates, cello) come to UCSC's April in Santa Cruz Festival of New Music as part of their national tour. The concert also features professor Ben Leeds Carson's new work "Modes (of Resistance)" plus music of Bernadette Speach (including "les ondes pour quatre"), Ben Johnston's "Amazing Grace" quartet, and the North American premiere of Michal Rataj's piano quintet "Souveti-I" ("Long Sentence") with Carson as guest pianist. 

*     *     *     *     *
FREE and open to the public. 
Parking permit $4.